To Ask or Not to Ask?

I’m  a  part  of  a  program  that  is  required  for  us  to  fundraise  money.  This  allows  us  to  step  outside  of  our  comfort  zones  and  to  step  outside  of  the  box  on  how  we  can  raise  the  money.  But  during  the  duration  of  the  time  where  we  were  assigned  to  fundraise  the  money  to  the  day  where  we  should  turn  in  the  money  we  raised,  I  realized  that  I’m  still  trying  to  get  out  of  my  comfort  zone.

I  asked  my  Aunt  last  minute  on  how  I’m  fundraising  money  for  the  program  I’m  in  and  she  sent  me  this  message:

“I hope you learned your lesson here and that is to seek help. One cannot live life without asking for help and you have to give persons time to help you.”

What  she  said  sent  a  shock  to  my  body.  It  showed  me  that  I  had  a  lot  of  evolving  to  do.

I  realized  that  I  have  a  deep,  hidden  weakness  I  don’t  share  with  anyone.  It  is  the  weakness  that  my  Aunt  clearly  saw  in  my  message  to  her.

I  don’t  like  asking  for  help.  Even  if  I  have  no  clue  on  the  matter  and  definitely  need  some  help—I  won’t  ask  for  it.

I  don’t  know  if  others  may  think  that’s  a  weakness.  But  if  others  are  willing  to  give  me  a  hand  and  all  I  needed  to  do  was  ask.  Then  I  guess  that  leaves  me  in  the  wrong.

I  don’t  know  if  after  that  exchange,  if  that’s  going  to  make  me  ask  for  help  more.  But  it’s  a  start.  At  least  I’m  aware  of  it  now.

I  just  hate  the  feeling  of  being  vulnerable  and  the  feeling  of  not  knowing  anything.  So  when  I  ask  for  help,  it  shows  that  I  don’t  know  and  that  I  am  opening  myself  up  for  ridicule  and  criticism.  And  I  hate  that  feeling.

Leave a Reply

